A MOMENT TO SHARE with Brad C. Anderson

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Brad C. Anderson author of Hammer of Amahte /book #1 of the Triumvirate Trilogy/ and In the Ravager’s Shadow /book #2 of the Triumvirate Trilogy/. Brad is self-published author with a Masters of Science in medical science. Now he is currently working like a business instructor at Kwantlen Polytechnic University.

014Bradley and Joelle Headshot Portraits WEB

Brad C. Anderson

Hi Brad, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell us a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career? Which writers inspire you?

I started off my adult life working in the biotech industry where I (literally) made drugs for a living. Over time, I shifted more into the business development side of things, and eventually wound up as a business professor at a local university, which is a job I absolutely love.

I was always writing short stories as a kid, and then as I got older, I got into gaming (D&D, etc), where I’d create elaborate stories for my gaming group. So, storytelling has always been my creative outlet. I jokingly tell people I got back into writing as an adult because there’s nothing good on TV, and I’ll stop when they bring Firefly back on the air.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

Before getting back into writing I kind of lacked a creative outlet, which actually depressed me. It makes me realize how important it is to express your creativity through whatever medium is your muse.

  • Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel? 

Hmmm, tough one, since they both kind of evolve together. I’d have to say the idea for my story comes first, and then I people it with characters.

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

I suppose it was about 5 years ago or so.

  • Why do you write?

Because these stories keep forming in my head and they beg me to release them.

  • So, what have you written?

13604603I have two novels out now: Hammer of Amahte and In the Ravager’s Shadow. They’re books one and two of a trilogy.

17293590

I’m currently in rewrites on the final book in the trilogy, which I’m expecting to get out Spring 2014. I also blog about a wide variety of topics (though my frequency on posting is pretty low).

  • Where people can buy or see them?

You can purchase my novels on Amazon or Lulu. Formats include paperback, Kindle or electronic. My blog’s at www.bradanderson2000.com.

  • Give me an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

In the third book of the trilogy I’m working on, my main character is Marco. He’s a fast talker with a penchant for languages and an ability to fit in seamlessly with any group or culture. I wanted to make a character who was interesting, and relied on his intellect to make is way in a world where the universe seems set against him.

  • What sparked the idea for your book? 

People ask me that and I never know how to answer. The ideas just seem to appear in my head. I suppose one day I was reflecting on the physical difficulties of traveling between stars, and came up with an idea of seedships, that kept embryos in a state of stasis for the trip. That led me to envision multiple planets with civilization, each borne of seedships, giving them a bit of a common background. And then I thought, what if the makers of the seedships never gave directions back to Earth, and never told their progeny why it was a secret …

  • How do you market your book? 

    Screen Shot 2013-10-29 at 9.17.50 PM

    Brad’s Bloog

Currently, mostly through social media, though now I’m getting close to finishing my trilogy, I’m thinking of expanding that.

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?

This just popped into my inbox last week, and I think it provides good guidelines for getting starting with the marketing racket. http://success.lulu.com/?mid=~memail~clulu~aholidayguide

  • What do you do to get book reviews?

Ask. Hope. Once my third book’s ready, I’m contemplating giving a free copy to anyone who’s written a review for the previous books in the trilogy.

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Start now. Seek out other author friends who can support you. Desperately seek constructive feedback on your work, and when you get that feedback, listen to it.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?
Screen Shot 2013-10-29 at 9.21.27 PM

Brad’s Facebook Page

Imagine I said something witty here. Thank you Meglena for sharing the word about my writing. 🙂

  • How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Blog: (www.bradanderson2000.com),

Facebook: (https://www.facebook.com/bradanderson2000),

Goodreads: (https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5818437.Brad_C_Anderson,

Author page: on Amazon or Lulu.

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview Brad C. Anderson, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you Brad!!! Good Luck with everything!

5 thoughts on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Brad C. Anderson

  1. Pingback: A MOMENT TO SHARE with Brad C. Anderson | Brad's Blog

  2. Pingback: 11 GREAT AUTHORS AND THEIR INCREDIBLE MARKETING IDEAS | Meglena Ivanova

Leave a Reply

