A MOMENT TO SHARE with Alana Munro

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Alana Munro author of Women Behaving Badly exposing the Truth about Female Friendship made it to no. 1# on Amazon Kindle USA during August 2013. Alana Munro lives in Australia with her husband, 3 kids and their puppy. Born in Scotland, she acquired a Bachelor of Arts degree from an Edinburgh University before jumping head first into motherhood.

2013-11-12_11.53.27

Alana Munro

Hi Alana, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background?

I grew up in Scotland. My husband, kids and me, all moved to Australia about 5 years ago for a fun, new adventure.

  • What were you like at school?

I was shy and studied. I was keen to get out of school and into university. I really didn’t enjoy high school. I was bullied a lot by other girls in my year. So I was very relieved to leave!

  • Were you good at English?

I was always pretty good, my teachers liked my stories. I was probably best at biology though! I used to love writing up biology reports. Very strange I know!

  • What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’d love to keep improving and trying new things.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

I am a full time mummy to three kids – so pretty busy!

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

    Alana

    Newspaper article about Alana’s debut book!

I’ve always enjoyed writing my feelings down. It helps me express myself. I started blogging and then started working on my first book. It all just fell into place. There wasn’t a major light bulb moment, it came naturally and I just went with it.

  • Why do you write?

To express myself, make sense of my world and the world around me.

  • What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Never ever, ever give up ever!!!

  • So, what have you written?

cover biggerI wrote Women Behaving Badly – Exposing the Truth about Female Friendship. I was a #1 best-seller over on Kindle during August 2013.

  • Where people can buy or see your book?

My book can be purchased from these major websites – Amazon, Barnes and Noble, WH Smith, Tesco, Waterstones.

At the moment the eBook is only 99 cents.

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

It came from personal experience. I had endured a lot of bullying, passive aggression and manipulation from females. I wanted to make sense of these toxic behaviors and find happier friendships. Why were these women behaving so badly? What was motivating them to bitch about me?

  • Where is your favorite place to read and write?

I love to read in bed at night to relax. I write on my laptop in the kitchen, it is a busy hub though! I am often seen trying to note down important questions from my author clients and making my kids more food.

  • How do you market your book?

    Alana's Website

    Alana’s Website!

I have a popular blog which acts as a great platform for my book.

I’ve worked hard to build a supportive blog community. http://alanamunroauthor.com/

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?

Definitely, build good, strong connections with other bloggers, authors, writers. Help them out where you can. Support each other. I have found the blogging community to be rock solid. Most people are incredibly nice and we all support each other.

support-a-writer-badge

Google+ community – Support a writer!

You could also join my Support group for writers called Support-a-Writer. It’s free and we are a friendly group keen on supporting each other. Simply head to my blog to find my group.

And of course you can hire me as I also work as a Book Marketer. I have my own marketing company, Reach for the Stars, that offers lots of valuable but affordable promotional services to get your book noticed. Shameless plug! 🙂

The address is – http://reachforthestarsmarketing.com/.

  • What do you do to get book reviews?

I have asked other authors to help. I’ll read your book if you do the same for me. That works sometimes but not always. I have to keep asking and reminding people to review. So if I get a nice email in from a reader I always sweetly ask them to leave a little review if they could be so helpful! Most people are pleased to help.

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?
Badge - for link exchange

Reach for the Stars Book Marketing!

If you have passion in your belly to write you’ll have little choice.

So keep on writing and connecting with other like-minded souls.

Build your network and jump at opportunities to get your work noticed.

Even if it terrifies you – just push the fear away and publish your work.

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work?

All information can be found on my Blog – http://alanamunroauthor.com/. Please drop by and connect with me. I’d love to hear from you!

Website: http://reachforthestarsmarketing.com/

Blog: http://alanamunroauthor.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alanamunroauthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AMauthor

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview Alana Munro, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you Alana!!! Good Luck with everything!

11 thoughts on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Alana Munro

Leave a Reply

