A MOMENT TO SHARE with Ewan Scott

I’m truly grateful to have Ewan Scott as a Guest Author for this week’s blog to interview. Ewan leaves in Scotland! He loves to write and have so many ideas for future stories. Million Dollar Monkey is his first published story and it is the first in a series featuring Cormack Sharp and his band Six Million Dollar Monkey who have been described as not the worst band in Scotland, but not far off! Hope you enjoy his interview!

escott_1

Ewan Scott

So, Hi Ewan, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background?

I was born in Scotland and I’m still in Scotland! I currently live in Edinburgh but I’m been all over, north to south. I like it here, the drizzly weather suits me.

  • What were you like at school?

I was one of the smallest kids in class and so I got picked on quite a bit at first. Luckily, I was blessed with a special gift, no not some kind of magical power, I was a very fast runner. When gym class came around and there was anything involving running I just ran rings round my tormentors and they soon left me alone. I ended up on the school athletics team and even though I was still a shortly I didn’t get hassled!

  • Were you good at English?

Yes, but pretty useless at all other languages.

  • What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I’d like to sell more books that Dan Brown! Seriously, I’d like to write just one really good book that people would want to read. It’s a simple ambition but it may take a lifetime.

  • Which writers inspire you?

I love to read anything by Haruki Murakami. A Wild Sheep Chase is such a funny book but it has the touch of a genuine master.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

    iscot_website_1

    Scott’s Website page!

Exactly the same! 🙂

  • Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

The idea first, that sets the scene then the characters start to turn up!

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

I’ve been scribbling away for years but 2013 was the year I decided to try and get something finished.

  • Why do you write?

Why not! I really like to get my stories out of my head on onto paper (or screen). It makes it a lot easier to sleep at night.

  • So, what have you written?

mmm_smashwords_1Million Dollar Monkey is my first published story available on Amazon and Smashwords. It is the first in a series featuring bass player Cormack Sharp and his band Six Million Dollar Monkey.

  • Where people can buy or see them?

Available at Amazon and Smashwords!!!

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

Having been in a number of bands myself I had the phrase “The worst band in Scotland” kicking about in my mind. I wondered what the name of that band would be, what they would be like and how far they would go to try and make it big. Everything else developed from there. There were no monkeys at the beginning of the idea but quite a few by the end …

  • How do you market your book?

I must admit to being pretty clueless about marketing. I’m not big on self-promotion. I’m like the anti-beiber, I’ll run if anyone asks me to sell myself. I do think there’s a separation between something you write and yourself though, like Jekyll and Hyde, or so I tell myself that when I’m telling people to buy my book.

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?
smashwords

Scott’s Smashwords Page!

Honestly, I’m not in a position to tell anyone how to do it.

All I’d say is that the most important thing is the writing and if you’ve written something that connects with other people then I’m sure there will be an audience for it.

  • What do you do to get book reviews?

They’ve been pretty thin on the ground so far! Everybody is welcome to write review. 🙂

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Write something brilliant!

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview Ewan Scott, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you Ewan!!! Good Luck with everything!

One thought on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Ewan Scott

  1. Pingback: Blog Award – Liebster Award!!! | The Lights in the Sky

Leave a Reply

