What We Do to Be a Successful and Creative Teacher? Guest post by Fedric Adkins!

profCreative thinking is vital to student success in all subject areas. To prepare students for future success – in and beyond the classroom – our teachers need to have techniques that foster creative innovation. Teachers must understand how students think, and build from there, focusing on the basic principles.

I found it amazing that I am not the only person that thinks this way. Creativity is needed in today’s school systems because the world is changing so rapidly. To talk more on this topic I invited Fedric Adkins. He will share with us his thoughts, views and experience.

What We Do to Be a Successful and Creative Teacher?
by Fedric Adkins

I always admire teachers who are intellectually curious and professionally vital. I feel extremely privileged to have been taught by a host of such great teachers who were my greatest sources of inspiration. I feel proud to be talking about such teachers, but I will restrict myself to the description of the greatest of the lot in my opinion. Let me give an account of my all time favorite teacher who had taught me English for two years. He is a six footer who stands tall both literally and metaphorically behind all his students. Those of us who had a great passion for English language and literature were so eager to have a glimpse of him the first thing in the morning as soon as we reach school. I used to get such strong positive energy just by seeing him and greeting him in the morning and the whole day used to be so lively for me.

Students, at the first place, need to like the teachers in order to be able to enjoy their lectures. The first thing you notice when you come across any person is the attire and how that person carries his or her self. This great teacher of mine dresses so officially that one cannot find a single crease on his shirt. Indeed, he is like a white shirt, so neatly dressed and spick and span.

He is an avid reader who constantly updates his knowledge. He has had enough exposure to psychology, theology and ethics. His lectures were so informative that the class notes I took years ago continue to enlighten me till date and every time I go through them I get fresh, new ideas. He is such a social person who used to know most of the students in and out. It may not be an exaggeration to say that he is an encyclopedia on two legs. I have never come across such a practical person who used to give great insights to us all. He comes to the classroom just with a textbook. He does not need any preparation for any class in English language and literature. His scholarship is such that anything we ask the answer is ready on his lips. aasss

Having studied psychology, he is a great judge of character. He analyzes each student in great depth and lends all his moral support to his students. He treats his students as if they are his own children. The care and affection I got from him is sincere which comes from the bottom of his heart. His classes are great, but the one-to-one correspondence with him is still greater. He is so passionate about his career that after each class I used to get some points to ponder. I can proudly say that I have learned a lot from him which helped my overall development.

A successful teacher will remain fresh in all his students’ minds. This great teacher of mine has an enormous amount of patience which is an essential thing for a teacher. He explains things in a way which most of his students understand. He is someone who believes that students should not restrict themselves to classroom activities. He organizes cultural activities for students and leads all those so well because his leadership quality is highly commendable. It is said that a teacher should be like a friend, philosopher and guide. From the bottom of my heart I can say that this teacher was all of this for me, he still is and he will be so.

A great teacher should be widely read, passionate about the noble career of teaching, innovative and always ready to do the best possible for his students. Such teachers can change students’ lives for good. I do owe this teacher a lot for having helped me change my life.

Author Bio: Fedric Adkins is a freelance content writer and he covers topics from various subject areas. He is currently working for Clazwork.com, an established source of freelance essay writers to ire and use for various writing needs.

Thank you for those inspiring words Fedric. Thank you so much for contributing to this topic.

51bv8jhUFzL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_When I was writing my book – The legend of The Moonstone, I’ve created a character based on one of my high school teachers. My reasoning behind it was that I really admire the way this teacher teaches us.

“Teaching… it’s not just a job, it’s an adventure!”

Any thoughts or ideas you have along these lines will be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

