Interview Questions for Media Person

edfHi people, I have amazing news to share!!! Last week Teddi Pope, a current student at Abraham Baldwin Agriculture College in Tifton, Georgia ask me if I could answer a few interview questions for one of her projects. Teddi is majoring in English and she plans to write novels, short stories, plays and articles, so to support her and help her with her project I agree to do the interview. Hope you will enjoy it… 🙂 Everybody is welcome to answer her questions and post comments on my answers. 🙂

March 2014, Theiadora Pope

  1. How did you become what you are today?

I knew I liked writing from the time I was very young, so I don’t think I ever really decided to write. I was writing to express my feelings and to help my friends feel better if something bad was happened to them or their families.

When I was 10 years old I won third place in the local literary contest. That’s how I started writing essays and short stories for different competitions.

Now I’m writing more about innocent times, objects, creatures and magic.

I have published a several short stories, a couple of essays and poems, and of course my first book – The Legend of the Moonstone: A Series for Kids and Young Adults.

I’m currently writing the second book in the trilogy – The Bloodstone. I am not even done with the book and I have generated so much buzz over the project that I have had several people tell me that they want autographed copies. I am still getting used to these requests. It feels good though… to have people reacting so strongly to the concept of my book. I just can’t wait to finish it and move into the next phase of promoting it. When it is ready I promise I will send it to you for an honest review Teddi.

  1. What inspired you to get a profession in media/writing?

I write because I have to. Never thought I’d say that as it sounds so wonky but it’s true. I get edgy and down if I can’t write or make something, so I am always working and happiest when I have a deadline. The desire to see my work in print and my books on the shelves but I look on that as motivation. What inspires me to write in my case should be WHO inspires me to write? The answer to that – my English school teacher and a very dear friend.

  1. What is your daily course of business?

Every writer has their own routine. Some people write a certain amount of words or pages per day. Robert B. Parker, the mystery writer, famously writes five pages every day; Stephen King ten pages a day, and Ernest Hemingway 500 words every day. Some writers can only write standing up, some (Truman Capote) can only write lying down. There really is no ‘typical’, there’s just what works for you.

Personally, I try to write and market my book(s) (only one published so far, more to come). I spend some quality time on social media, researching and learning new writing techniques, and ways of promotions. I update my blog and website. Read and write a lot until I have time, because I have day job and a house to manage.

When I’m not writing words down, I’m still thinking about the story, so when I get a few minutes at the screen I’m able to pick up where I left off. Having a good memory helps, too. 🙂

Hard work pays. Managing family, work and still writing a book in between coffee breaks is inspiring.

  1. What do you love and hate about your job?

For me the worst thing about writing is finishing the book and having to leave the characters I have become close to and know so well, but there are new people to meet in the book ahead. Of course, because writing doesn’t bring in a regular income, I’m not allowed to take it seriously. Some people still seem to see it as a cute hobby to keep my little brain occupied while I’m sitting at home doing nothing except looking after a toddler. I wish society would accept that some things are worth doing even if they don’t attract a wage. 🙂

As of the best part, I love the writing itself. I love just writing for a few hours straight and getting so engrossed that I can hardly remember the differences between the characters and myself. I love when you really get into the zone and you block everything else out and it’s just you and your words and the story. It’s an incredible feeling.

  1. What is one moment in your job that you were extremely proud of yourself and what you do?

One of my extremely proud moments is when I finished my first book. I remember that I wrote and wrote and then rewrote and rewrote until finally I looked up and had my first completed novel. It was a magical moment.

  1. Is there anything that concerns you about your profession? If so, what and why?

It’s much harder to write a book than people think. Because the words never come out the way they sounded in your head. And it takes a long time to get those words out. Many people want to write a book, but most of them give up because it’s too hard. The truth remains: only a few authors make any significant money from their novels. The upside is, if you accept that truth from the start, it doesn’t matter. 🙂 From the moment they see their first novel on a bookshop shelf, very few authors would choose another trade. Money or not and I am one of those authors.

  1. Would you advise young people to follow in the footsteps that you have taken for the same profession?

My advice is not to get too stressed out about the lack of sales, lack of reviews, etc. Having fun and a few satisfied readers is what’s most important for a writer who is driven to write. 🙂

  1. What advice do you have for a student embarking on a writing career?

Not everyone is a writer and not everyone wants to write, but most of us do write for our jobs and we write to get a job. Knowing how to write well can not only help us advance in our own careers, but it can help others when we share our knowledge and our experiences and our ideas with them, in writing. So, my advice to you is before you try to get published, and before you even start writing, you need to read. By reading professional publications, you learn about new ideas and new ways to do things. You learn what types of publications you like to read, and you learn how to formulate words and sentences and paragraphs and persuasions that will make you a better writer.

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” — Stephen King

Thank you Teddi for choosing me to be your media person for the project you have been given. It was a pleasure for me to answer all of your amazing questions. Hope one day you will become a great and amazing author or/and journalist. Good luck and keep up the good work. 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

