A MOMENT TO SHARE with David Clive Price

Somewhere deep inside, we all have a longing to make things – be they drawings, music, hand-knit sweaters, loaves of bread or writing. David Clive Price is AN AWARD-WINNING EXPERT THAT CAN RADICALLY TRANSFORM YOUR BUSINESS. 25 years’ experience, a dozen Asian cultures, and fluency in four languages prove David Clive Price is not only an industry expert but also a well sought out adviser, respected negotiator, and influential speaker to a myriad of global corporations. David is the author of an academic book on the English Renaissance, the amazing novels – Alphabet City and Chinese Walls, several travel books on Japan, Hong Kong, the Forbidden City, Buddhism in Asia, rural Italy, India and South Korea, a book on the Food of Korea, many international magazine articles on travel in Asia and two more novels that are awaiting publication.

David Clive Price

David Clive Price

Hi David, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career? 

I was born in south London and remained in UK for my schooling, studied history and political thought at Cambridge University, sang in the college choir,  did a PhD in Renaissance studies and then post-grad in Italy on a travel fellowship, skipped ship after a year and bought a farmhouse in Tuscany where I farmed wine and olives for several years before setting off for the Far East. I spent four years as chief speechwriter of a famous bank in Hong Kong during the handover of Hong Kong to China and then left to set up my own company and write more books. I divide my time between London and Hong Kong.

At school, I was very precocious, won the school cross-country, was awarded best actor prize, played Hamlet, sang in the choir and won a choral scholarship to Cambridge. I loved Eng Lit but studied history more to get scholarships. I read a lot and began to study languages. My ambitions to be a writer started at school and now I aim to be known as a novelist who really takes you places (the latest trilogy is called ‘Unexplored Territory’). I aim to attract a big publisher with third novel in the series, which is already half written. All books are set in Asia, except a novel set in 1980s New York.

  • Which writers inspire you?

I find myself in a unique position as an author (of business books too) that knows both East and West, and can interpret the ways of the East to Western readers. I admire E M Forster’s Passage to India in this regard. I am inspired by too many writers to list them.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

    David Clive Price’s YouTube Chanel

It’s hard to remember because I’ve been writing books since I was 23 (and then I was studying). I guess I must have been very free and unscheduled/undisciplined once but I can’t remember it! I have a writer discipline in my blood since finishing my first degree and perhaps earlier.

  • Which comes first – the character’s story or the idea for the novel?

Usually the idea of a novel comes complete with the beginning of a central character and his/her big life challenges. If not, it’s very soon after the idea comes along.

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

I can’t remember a conscious decision, but probably around the age of 12/13 at school when I first suspected I might be gay.

  • Why do you write?

It makes me profoundly happy, especially perhaps a novel but also a travel book.

I can’t not write (if you see what I mean). I get grouchy if I am kept from writing for more than 2-3 months.

  • So, what have you written?

aaa aasAn academic book on the English Renaissance (still published by Cambridge UP).

A first novel, Alphabet City, and this novel Chinese Walls set in Hong Kong and London, with two more novels in the series written and awaiting publication.

Travel books on Japan, Hong Kong, the Forbidden City, Buddhism in Asia, rural Italy, India and now on South Korea.

A book on the Food of Korea, many international magazine articles on travel in Asia. My author/travel blog iswww.unexploredterritory.net.

  • Where people can buy or see them?

The best place is my Amazon author page:

http://www.amazon.com/David-Clive-Price/e/B001JX3SIS

David Clive Price’s Website

Also my author blog:

http://www.unexploredterritory.net

And Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

My Goodreads and Kindle giveaways for Chinese Walls are in process.

  • Give me an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

He’s a high flyer in the corporate world who takes a punt on a love affair with a guy in another culture (HK Chinese), in his own company (taboo), and after being married for 25 years and fathering two children in the UK. He then attempts to kept this secret from his wife, children and above all employers while pursuing higher office.

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

David Clive Price’s Facebook Page

I lived at least a part of the story myself, not as a closet gay, but as a high-profile figure in a multinational bank. I was openly gay (just acted normally), but my character doesn’t and is more after the top jobs than I was.

It just came to me pine day while I was thinking that life in the corporate world was a bit like school, with plenty of bullies around. People were like children….

  • How do you market your book?

Giveways, video promotion, blog interviews, reviews, author blog, social media, FB adverts, speaking and reading events.

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? What do you do to get book reviews?

I find people like Misha Almira and you Meggie. I give away books physically at readings and events like a calling card and ask people to review. I give radio interviews. I tell influential contacts. In Hong Kong, I will use a PR agency whose owners are very old friends.

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?
David Clive Price Twitter

David Clive Price’s Twitter

Be absolutely sure you can take the long hours alone, and probably a lot of self-imposed loneliness too. Try to get a side/parallel job or interest that gets you out meeting people and sharing/giving. Otherwise, navel gazing sets in 🙂 You also need that outside experience for the books. The later work of many good writers goes dry and academic because they forget about the ‘pay dirt’ of adventure and the unfamiliar. They research but they don’t live it.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

This is the first in the Unexplored Territory tetra-logy (four novels). The second is called Alphabet City and is set in early 1980s New York (Avenues A-Z).

  • How can readers discover more about you and your work?
  1. Website: davidcliveprice.com
  2. Blog: unexploredterritory.net
  3. Facebook: facebook.com/davidcliveprice
  4. Twitter: twitter.com/davidcliveprice
  5. Pinterest:
  6. http://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=david+clive+price
  7. Amazon Author Page:
  8. http://www.amazon.com/David-Clive-Price/e/B001JX3SIS
  9. Book Links: (* American, UK, etc.)
  10. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=david+Clive+Price
  11. http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=David+Clive+Price
  12. Goodreads: 
  13. https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/617504.David_Clive_Price

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview David Clive Price, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you David!!! Good Luck with everything! :)

Leave a Reply

