A MOMENT TO SHARE with Avraham Anouchi

Avraham Anouchi is an author, engineer, inventor, and entrepreneur. He grew up in Israel dreaming of studying engineering at the Technion Institute of Technology in Haifa. He earned his engineering degrees in the United States, but left his heart in Haifa. He is a former Vice President in United Technologies Corporation. He is now the president and founder of a high technology engineering company.

The dream was shattered when the 1948 War of Independence broke out before he finished High School. After the war he earned his engineering degrees in the United States, but left his heart in Haifa. His career led him to become a Vice President in United Technologies Corporation. He is now the president and founder of an engineering company.

After publishing numerous professional articles in English and historical ones in Hebrew, Avraham published four books: The Legacy a memoir in English, Igeret Hamassoreta memoir in Hebrew, The Hidden Scroll a historical and archaeological novel, and From Timna to Marsa fictional novel based on a real potential crisis for all humans on Earth, the depletion of rare earth metals.

4295441

Avraham Anouchi

 Hi Avraham, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school?

Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I always wanted to be an engineer and I succeeded in attaining my objective. I am not a native American. I started learning English in my fifth grade.

  • Which writers inspire you?

Daniel Silva, Herman Wouk, Viktor Hugo, Don Isaac Abravanel.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?The Hidden Scroll An Archeological Adventure

I grew up in Haifa, Israel. My most important memory is my singing in a synagogue children choir. I dreamt of growing up to be a “Chazan” who chants solo. Although I was devastated when my voice changed and I had to leave the choir, I carry with me a repertoire of synagogue melodies and many songs I learned later in Hebrew, French, English and Ladino. I never stopped singing and even sang in a Pittsburgh Hebrew choir. I was fortunate to attend an elementary school which taught me four languages. I was fascinated by the complexity of chess. It turned out to be my best teacher on how to consider consequences of my decisions in life.

  • Which comes first – the character’s story or the idea for the novel?

The idea of a novel. 🙂

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

After I translated my Hebrew book to English.

  • Why do you write?

From Timna to MarsMy father’s translation of novels from French to Hebrew inspired me to wish I could inherit his skill, but my profession in the United States limited my writing to technical articles in English. After my first memoir in Hebrew was published in 2000, I decided to translate it to English as a booklet for my grandchildren who grew up in Cleveland. Several years later, I joined an internet workshop of authors who edit each others chapters. When three writers recognized me as not a native American, they labored in assisting me and managed to elevate my writing skill from that of a novice to a level which enabled me to published my third book.

  • So, what have you written? 51uW9eV97yL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_
  1.             “Igeret Hamassoret”, a memoir in Hebrew.
  2.             “The Legacy”, a memoir in English.
  3.             The Hidden Scroll, a historical novel.ssss
  4. From Timna to Mars, a space mission thriller.
  • Where people can buy or see them?

Amazon.com, http://www.Amazon.co.uk, Barnes and Noble, http://www.AnouchiBooks.com, all English speaking countries.

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

The idea of writing a novel on space missions in search of rare-earth metals was an unexpected one. After the publication of The Hidden Scroll, my archaeological and historical novel, I was writing another historical novel when two articles attracted my attention. One was on the forecasted depletion of special metals designated as rare-earth elements. The other was on the potential of space mining. Engrossed with a new idea, I placed the first ten chapters of my yet-to-be-written historical creation in a bottom drawer of my desk and started to gather material for a new fictional work about searching for rare elements on an asteroid or a planet.

In 2011, the Pentagon issued an alarming report spotlighting the military dependence on rare-earth metals. It included a section on a potential Achilles’s heel for the US military’s reliance on rare earths used in manufacturing weapons. It highlighted high-end weapons, such as precision-guided bombs, advanced fighter aircraft, night-vision goggles, and targeting lasers, which depend on components built with rhenium, neodymium, europium, ruthenium, and other rare-earth metals. It even addressed nonmilitary threats to oil refineries and consumer technologies found in everything from smart phones to hybrid-car batteries.

Avraham Anouchi's Twitter PageThe report stated that China has achieved an almost-complete monopoly on processing rare-earth oxides by producing more than 90 percent of the world’s needs. When the Chinese placed export quotas on rare-earth metals and oxides, the Pentagon expressed its concern about the potential supply interruptions. It urged the president and the Congress to allocate the funding to encourage United States–based companies to construct facilities for processing rare-earth oxides in the United States.

The seventeen elements include some that are so critical that it would be hard to imagine what the twenty-first century would be without them.

  • How do you market your book?

I use Elite Book Promotions.

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? What do you do to get book reviews? Avraham Anouchi's Goodreads Page

Goodreads is a good way to find people who would be happy to review new books.

Giveaways help too.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

www.AnouchBooks.com

  • How can readers discover more about you and your work?
  1.             Twitter handle:        https://twitter.com/AviYoel
  2.             Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/avraham.anouchi?sk=info&edit=eduwork
  3.             Goodreads author page:       https://www.goodreads.com/GoodreadscomAvrahamAnouchi
  4.             Amazon link:             AuthorCentral
  5.             Book Tour Schedule: http://www.elitebookpromotions.com/book-tours/

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview Avraham Anouchi, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you Avraham!!! Good Luck with everything! 🙂

One thought on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Avraham Anouchi

  1. Pingback: HAVE YOU WROTE YOUR BEST BOOK? 6 AUTHORS SHARE THEIR STORIES ABOUT WRITING THEIR BOOKS!!! | Meglena Ivanova

Leave a Reply

