A MOMENT TO SHARE with Jerome Jay Isip

There is nothing more exciting than when a writer completes their first novel and Jerome Jay Isip has done this very thing. He finished his book and it’s now being formatted, published and in the hungry hands of readers everywhere. But, who is he? Let’s find out, shall we?

Jerome Jay Isip

Jerome Jay Isip

Hi Jerome, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career? 

I am Filipino American, born and raised in Belleville NJ. I graduated high school late because I stayed back my senior year when I repeatedly failed classes and certain exams. I really didn’t care for the school work; I usually did just enough to be eligible to wrestle. I clowned around most of the time, and if I wasn’t causing mischief I was sleeping during class. I actually use to fail the placement tests on purpose so I could have an easier schedule. It eventually caught up and I repeated my senior year. I failed English class every year, by the time I was a Senior in high-school I had 3 English classes but since I was good at wrestling, my teachers would pass me just enough to wrestle. So always remember, it’s now what you know, it’s who you know and what you could do for them =). And I dropped out of college right at my placement test. After making that decision I became; a successful entrepreneur that co-owns 4 businesses, a professional MMA fighter for 11 years, and now author. So I think I made the correct decision for myself lol. As far as writing, I really don’t know where/how far I wanted to take it, I just knew I enjoyed writing and loved that fact I could possibly inspire others through words. So I just wrote, and wrote, and wrote and eventually published my first book in November. I loved the process. I loved the purpose behind my writing. I love the fact that others will be able to read my words and give them new insight in their personal life. Touching and connecting with other human beings, to help one another grow as individuals, and to create joy within ourselves through words – is why I write…

  • Which writers inspire you? 10171892_10204420496145250_2691918749175271532_n

The writers that inspired me to write were Bob Proctor, Jack Canfield, Abraham Hicks. They inspired me to write my own book between their readings and seminars.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

My life before becoming an author was extremely hectic and strictly business. I was very stubborn, condescending, and kind of apathetic towards the world but more importantly myself. I lost who I originally was dealing with being “successful” I wasn’t happy, even though I believed I was. I was trapped inside the facade that has been created by the outside world of distractions. Chasing “things” to label my success and lifestyle, I was blinded by the light, which was actually my darkness. Before all of my “success” I had a list of goals I have accomplished some, but not all. The goals I wrote down before I saw any of the “success” I had accomplished was the most meaningful. They were pure and from the heart. I had accomplished certain things and created my financial success through certain practices that I share in my book. But, somewhere during the process I lost myself in the money, my goals changed once I created some financial freedom and the original list of goals was forgotten. Early this year I realized that something had went wrong because when I would look in the mirror, I did not recognize my reflection. I lived a rock star life style without being a rock star. I was poisoning myself with the fluff, alcohol, drugs, girls, gambling, street fights, materialistic things, selfishness, and not helping anyone become a greater person, including myself. Eventually I snapped out of my apathetic mind-set and mentally placed myself to the person I used to be before I saw any type of “success.” I went back to my old list from 2008 and saw that only 3 out of my main 6 goals were crossed off. That was my “AH-HAA” moments. The 3 goals left over were; 1. Travel to train MMA and compete in other parts of the world… 2. Fall in love… 3. WRITE A BOOK! So that’s what I did, I took all the money I have earned from my financial success and traveled to 9 different states this year and during my trip(s) I would focus and write my book. So I did. I also became a “Best Selling Author” with over 16k downloads on Kindle. And yes, I fell in love along the way =) Long story short, I can finally say, I am happy…

  • Which comes first – the character’s story or the idea for the novel? 

Character’s story (which is me) about the time I left college on the first day on the placement test. That’s when I made my life altering decision and changes my life forever.

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

Last year… 2014

  • Why do you write?

I write because it is very therapeutic to me. It helps clear my mind and put thoughts in order. I do this because I genuinely love writing, even though I may not spell well or have correct punctuation but that’s why we have editor’s haha. Writing to me is all about the message behind your words, the purpose underlying your thoughts, and the inspiration to help others that are lost or just want to be entertained. Connecting with like minded people or helping someone find their way in life. It’s about being yourself at all times and never, ever, masking who you truly are because of the outside world. Writing helps me express my true colors and I want to share who I am with everyone because who knows, you might just change someone’s life.

  • So, what have you written?
10 STACKS TO SUCCESS

10 STACKS TO SUCCESS

I have only written 1 book so far (10 Stacks To Success) and am currently working on my next book. I do have a blog that I write on occasionally, I should actually start writing on it more (http://jayisip1.wordpress.com/). My blog has articles, short stories, poems, it’s kind of cool, check it out for yourself. On my first day of the book release, I was awarded Amazon #1 Hot New Feature in the Sales/Selling category. During my KDP select program I was awarded “#1Non-Fiction, #1 Self-Help, #1 Motivational, #1 Sales & Selling, #1 Marketing & Sales, #1 Business &Money, #8 Kindle Store, #8 Kindle E-book”. So it hasn’t been too shabby…

  • Where people can buy or see them?

My book is available on both e-book and paperback: Press kit

  1. Press Release: http://www.expertclick.com/NRWire/Releasedetails.aspx?id=64219
  2. http://www.northjersey.com/sports/high-school-sports/wrestling/former-wrestler-becomes-an-author-1.1142045?page=all
  3. Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/10-Stacks-Success-Achieve-Goal-ebook/dp/B00OX9V6BG/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid
  4. Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/10-stacks-to-success-mr-jerome-jay-isip/1120688365?ean=9781502960269
  • Give me an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

Well the main character is me so… I’m not really sure if this question relates to my book… but I am no more special than the next person. We are all amazing people inside; we just have to find ourselves.

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

ncdjdncThe idea came from my experiences in life and how I created my own personal success. I am still young and always learning but I feel I have been through a lot of shit, and wanted to share with others on how I crated the qualities that made me successful in my own eyes. So I narrowed it down to 10 segments which I believe will help anyone develop the attributes to create their own personal success. Many, Many people in my area would always ask me, “How do you do it?” or “Can I sit down and talk with you” So I wrote a book with all the information to share with others. That’s why I dedicated this book to my home town…

  • How do you market your book?
Jerome Jay Isip's Blog

Jerome Jay Isip’s Blog Page!

There’s a lot to it. But “in-a-nutshell” I found a good publishing company that helped me setup my site, formatting the book, placing it on major platforms, and marketed it to their network, that also helped market. SOCIAL MEDIA! Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, Linkedin, Instgram! Social media can turn you from zero-to-hero overnight. Do not underestimate the powers of social media. Yeah it may be cliché but, take advantage of the opportunity’s it has to offer. Get a professional PR person; they will get your book noticed to others in the book network and most likely get you book reviews. Search for other websites, bloggers, tweeters, that focus on “book promotions” It’s 2015 Google the key word “book promotions” I’m sure you’ll find 10,839,398 things that will help you market. Have local book signings at local businesses. In all honesty, you have to do a ton of “foot work” especially being an indie-author! No room for being lazy. Believe in your book and shove it in peoples mouths because you know it will go down smooth =) that’s only if you believe in your writings. If you don’t believe in your book, then why write at all…

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? What do you do to get book reviews?

I think I summed it up in the last question…

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Jerome Jay Isip 1My advice is to always be you, ALWAYS. Write down everything that’s on your mind, and I mean everything. It doesn’t have to make sense at first and doesn’t have to flow. Just write it all down and then organize your thoughts after. Stay focused on your goal for the book and the message you wish to deliver. Disregard any distractions! Don’t let ANYONE know you are writing except the people involved (editors, graphic designers, etc.). Not your family, friends, a bum on the street. NO BODY! I t will only distract you because they WILL voice their opinion and no matter what you think, it WILL alter your thought process during your writing. Keep it a secret, keep it to yourself, and don’t search for opinions until it’s completed and published. This will enable you to complete your book in a timely manner, and at its purest form.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

If you wish to write a book, have a purpose. The truth is that we all die one day. What are you going to leave behind in this world after your time on earth has been served?

  • How can readers discover more about you and your work?
  1. Website: www.10stackstosuccess.com; www.JayIsip.com
  2. Blog: www.jayisip1.wordpresss.com
  3. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/10stackstosuccess
  4. Twitter: https://twitter.com/JayIsip1
  5. Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Jerome-Jay-Isip/e/B00PB2P6SS/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
  6. Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/10-Stacks-Success-Achieve-Goal-ebook/dp/B00OX9V6BG/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid
  7. Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/10-stacks-to-success-mr-jerome-jay-isip/1120688365?ean=9781502960269
  8. Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/36418649-jerome-jay-isip

Thanks and best of luck with your novel Jerome!!!

4 thoughts on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Jerome Jay Isip

  1. Pingback: A MOMENT TO SHARE with Jerome Jay Isip | The Existing World of Non-Existence.

  2. Pingback: HAVE YOU WROTE YOUR BEST BOOK? 6 AUTHORS SHARE THEIR STORIES ABOUT WRITING THEIR BOOKS!!! | Meglena Ivanova

Leave a Reply

