A moment to share with Jane A. Hobden

Hi everyone, I am very happy to introduce you the amazing Jane A. Hobden. She is the author of The Hartford Inheritance, published on 27.05.14. Intense, gripping, psychological thriller are the best words to describe this new book.

Hi Jane, thank you for answering all of my questions.

So, tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I live in East Sussex on the coast in a fishing town called Hastings where I have lived all my life. I have never wanted to leave and am a real homely person. It’s where all my friends and family live. I’m married with two children, Harriet aged 11 and Toby aged 6. Harriet has the same passion that I do for reading and writing novels. Her school have identified her as ‘Gifted’ in writing which makes me very proud. My background is criminal law and I’ve now moved to family law preparing bills which I do from home. This gives me the freedom to work on my writing ambitions. I would love to write all the time. I enjoy every part of the process and have so many ideas in my imagination! It’s just finding the time!!!

  • Which writers inspire you? TheHartfordInheritanceBanner

Philippa Gregory is my all-time favorite author. Her talent is inspiring! To be able to write about real people from history in the way that she does, in the style that she does is truly amazing.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

I still work in law and so my life hasn’t changed – except that only my husband knew that I was writing a book and when I then posted the link of my published book on Facebook, none of my friends could quite believe that I had written and published.

  • Which comes first – the character’s story or the idea for the novel?

With The Hartford Inheritance it was the idea of twins that it started from and I developed the character of Kitty Harmer with the plot of finding out about her past. I write a chapter guide but The Hartford Inheritance and the book I’m writing at the moment go off course quite considerably with ideas developing and changing course as I go along!

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

I would write books when I was a child much like I do now. I would shut myself into my bedroom and write. Now I shut myself in my office!!! I guess it’s something I’ve always wanted to do but didn’t get round to it until four years ago when I started writing The Hartford Inheritance. My daughter had told me just before I started writing that she wanted to be an author when she grows up. I told her I had wanted to be an author too and then she asked why I hadn’t. I couldn’t answer that and instead began to write.

  • Why do you write?

My imagination is brimming with ideas and I love to get it onto paper.

  • So, what have you written?

TheHartfordInheritanceCoverMy only complete work is The Hartford Inheritance but I’ve just finished the first draft of the prequel The Hartford Beginnings and once I’ve published that hopefully in May this year I want to start on a sequel.

  • Where people can buy or see them?

Amazon kindle link https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KME02EO

  • Give me an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

Kitty Harmer is trying to make the best of a life of loss. She has an identical twin who was sent away when the girls were 12 as her parents couldn’t cope with her twin’s behavior and Kitty has been feeling the loss ever since. She’s stuck in an unhappy relationship and when her mother dies, she hits rock bottom. Then she is given a lifeline in the form of an inheritance she didn’t know anything about. She’s very special to me as she has a lot of my characteristics and she is the first character I have built a book around.

  • What sparked the idea for your book?

The idea of twins and if love between twins is ever unconditional. 

•           How do you market your book?

Jane A. Hobden’s Website Page!

Facebook, Twitter and Book Bloggers.

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? What do you do to get book reviews?

Social media is the key and having the time to keep reaching out there. I contacted as many book bloggers as I can but it can be hard to persuade them to read an ‘unknown’s’ debut work.

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Just go for it!!! The process is so fulfilling and if you are bubbling over with a story to tell, then tell it. There are no wrongs or rights with storytelling it’s a complete blank canvas. With eBooks and self-publishing it has made the process so much easier.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

Thank you for taking the time out to ask me questions. It’s been a real pleasure.

  • How can readers discover more about you and your work?

Goodreads | Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Website

GIVEAWAY

The author is giving away one paperback copy of THE HARTFORD INHERITANCE to a winner of the Rafflecopter. More information you can find here – A Rafflecopter giveaway!!!

One thought on “A moment to share with Jane A. Hobden

Leave a Reply

