MOMENT TO SHARE WITH Andrew Rickert

Hi all today I am very happy to share with you the amazing “Walton 2016” by Andrew Rickert!!!
​•​Tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career?

 I was born in Alexandria, Virginia but grew up in Atlanta, Georgia. I attended the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas, where I studied History. Much of my professional experience has been as a coach, whether it be swimming, martial arts, or personal training. I was also a competitive Mixed Martial Arts fighter and powerlifter, but ultimately decided that getting hit in the head wasn’t good in the long run. Along with coaching, I worked as a pizza delivery driver and night club bouncer for 7 years.

My experiences during that time inspired me to write my first book, titled Delivery Up: Memoirs of a Pizza Guy. History writing rarely rewards, and often punishes flare and creativity, so it took me many years to truly appreciate writing. I started pleasure writing about my experiences as a coach, lifter, and fighter; but truly fell in love with the craft while describing my experiences as I traveled across Southeast Asia. 

My goal as a writer is to just be able to keep creating, and ideally have more people read those creations along the way. I love being able to take the “what if’s?” in my brain and turn them into writing, I intend to keep doing that.

​•​Which writers inspire you? It might sound cliché, but discovering Kurt Vonegut was a huge impact for me. His writing style is very rebellious, and doesn’t fall under the normal rules/laws of writing. For someone like a stubborn person what wants to write how I want to write, he was a breath of fresh air. 

​•​What was your life like before becoming an author? 
It had its ups and downs, to say the least (as it still does). I had my passions, but very little in the sense of a creative outlet. I had this constant flow of ideas for stories I wanted to flesh out, but never really thought that I could really make it work. Finally finding that outlet was quite the revelation. Seeing those random ideas turn to words, my words no less, it was intoxicating to say the least.

​•​Which comes first – the character’s story or the idea for the novel? 

The story always seems to come alive for me before the characters do. I need to create the world they live in first before I can really imagine their place in it. I have ideas for their roles and how much impact they will have, but often I like to surprise myself where I can go with character’s as I write about them. 

​•​When did you decide to become a writer? 

It was my mom saying “you should write that book you’ve always talked about.” I had just recently quit a job I absolutely hated, and needed something to do while looking for other jobs. I had delivered pizza throughout college and as an extra job after, and always thought it was worth writing about. It wasn’t just about the job, which has it’s fare share of stories, but the feelings I and many others have when working a job like that. No one does it because they love it, they do it because they have to. And often because of that they become stuck to it much longer than they would like. So I started writing my delivery story. I had no idea how important that decision was going to be at the time.

​•​Why do you write?

​It makes me feel good. It’s as simple as that. I love building the story and watching the ideas in my head slowly take form and become permanent. 

​•​So, what have you written? 

Walton 2016 is my first published work. I am still deciding if I want to continue pursuing traditional publishing or self-publish Delivery Up, and have started work on my next book. 

​•​Where people can buy or see them?

Readers can find Walton 2016 on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1Stc7Az There will be a free promotion on June 2nd. 

​•​Give me an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?

Walton is very unapologetically inspired by Donald Trump, the most hated and loved man in modern American history. Without delving too far into the political side of things, I view the man as a threat to our country. The character Walton himself is quite ridiculous, but at times it was startling just how easy it was to write his part. And to be honest, it was quite fun. 

​•​What sparked the idea for your book?

If you read this in 2016, the inspirations are obvious. If you read this interview in 2040, then I am very curious as to how everything has turned out. But really, the inspirations for the story besides the obvious were Charlie Chaplins “The Great Dictator”, one of the greatest political satire films ever made. Chaplin used his strongest medium to convey the dangers of Adolf Hitler. I’m not calling Trump Hitler, but I’m not saying he’s not a terrifying prospect for POTUS. Dr. Strangelove was also a big inspiration, as it was also a satire highlighting the dangers of rash decisions.

​•​How do you market your book? 

As a new author, I am still experimenting with marketing strategies. I’ve used Twitter, Facebook, and different promotional services with mixed success. As any new author (and every author at some point) knows, it ain’t easy! 

​•​Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books? What do you do to get book reviews?

Ha, I wish I could offer marketing advice! As for reviews, take advantage of your social currency if you have it. Obviously you want honest reviews, but it is going to be easier to get people who actually know you exist to read your writing than it is complete strangers. For me, I am “lucky” enough in the sense that people either love or hate the story. The 1 star reviews are kind of fun, too.

​•​Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

I hope you enjoy the story! If not…like I said, it’s a love-hate type thing. I understand!

​•​How can readers discover more about you and your work?

​•​Blog: https://andyrickert1.wordpress.com/

​•​Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AndrewRickertAuthor/

​•​Twitter: @andytriestweets

​•​Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Andrew-Rickert/e/B01EJVNY6C/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

​•​Book Links: (* American, UK, etc.)- https://www.amazon.com/Walton-2016-Andrew-Rickert-ebook/dp/B01EINYMQC?ie=UTF8&ref_=asap_bc 

Thank you Andrew Rickert for the awesome answers!!! I wish tou all the best in you author journey!!!  

Leave a Reply

