A MOMENT TO SHARE with Raven Mallo

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Raven Elenah Mallo author of The Bully Diaries, several flash fiction, short stories and two YA novels. She communicates from the soul of her characters and she loves to stretch her mind with poetry.

MeTwitter.jpg

Raven Elenah Mallo

Hi Raven, thank you for agreeing to this interview.

  • Tell me a little about yourself and your background? What were you like at school? Were you good at English? What are your ambitions for your writing career? Which writers inspire you? Or something that you feel you need to share?

I loved English all throughout school. I remember my father hand crafting me a bookshelf when I was ten. I would spend hours rearranging all of the books I had and re-reading them. In English, I was able to get moved to Advance College Courses for English. English and Art were the only classes I yearned for. The first book I will never ever forget and the book that talked to me and inspired me to write was “The Catcher in the Rye” by J. D. Salinger. To this day, I have not forgotten it and still have my copy.

  • What was your life like before becoming an author?

I have wrote off and on my whole life. I remember sitting in my bedroom for hours, writing away in notebooks I would shove under my bed. Back then, I was afraid to let anyone read what I wrote. I was afraid to hear that writing was only a dream.

  • When did you decide to become a writer?

When I was ten. I knew someday I would write, but I had no idea I would be where I am now.

  • Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

My character’s drive my stories. They tell me what my novel is about…

  • Why do you write? What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

I write because it lets me lead exciting adventures every day. One day, I might be sitting atop a gigantic mushroom dreaming up spells, the next I could be dancing in a welcoming ceremony. Writing releases an energy and a spirit we all possess, but some of us don’t know how to locate it.

  • So, what have you written? /*Include books, novellas, short stories, poems, blogs, awards or anything of interest./

The Bully Diaries CoverI self-published, “The Bully Diaries” in June of 2012. Since then I have wrote poetry, several flash fiction pieces and two novels.

I received runner up during my first f2k session of Writers Village University.

That alone gave me the confidence to follow my dreams.

  • Where people can buy or see them? /* include American, European and any other relevant links./

Free, free promotions or prices can be included / The Bully Diaries is $2.99 and can be found on Amazon.com @ http://www.amazon.com/The-Bully-Diaries-ebook/dp/B0088K31MS. Anyone who sends me an email and mentions reading my interview on your Blog can get a FREE COPY, just enter “Meglena Ivanovany” in the subject line!!! 🙂 

  • Give me an insight into your main character from your last novel /first novel/. What does he/she do that is so special?

The main character of the novel I just completed is a strong-willed character. She has been on her own for some time and lives in a world where no one can be trusted. Everyone is the enemy.

  • What sparked the idea for your book/s?

I love reading Dystopian novels and have always been obsessed with the future. I think it was only fitting that I would eventually write a story based on just that. One of my favorite movies, “Total Recall” was a strange movie but brought a glimpse into the writer’s mind of what the future could be like.

  • Are there any character traits in your book that are based on someone you know? /*Even if the whole character isn’t based on them?/.

I think all of my characters are in some way based on people I have met or know. I try to put myself out there to meet people as much as I can. I believe every person has an interesting story, you just need to know how to ask the right questions to find it.

  • Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors?
Raven Mallo

Raven’s Website!

I read every day. I think reading has made me a better writer. My favorite authors include – Veronica Roth, Ann Aguirre, Becca Fitzpatrick, Ella James, and Marie Lu, just to mention a few but I also like a good true crime novel.

Honestly, I just love to read. On my desk are Sometimes a Great Notion, Atlas Shrugged, and The Great Gatsby. Reading is my passion. Writing is my life.

  • Where is your favorite place to read and write? 

IMG_0872About a year ago, I created a corner space in our bedroom. It is only a 5×5 foot space but I have an antique desk with a pretty, white shag rug, my bookshelf (the same one my father made for me) and a zebra colored chair.

I have things like Marvin the Martian, fairies, Monster High dolls and a few other things that help inspire me when I sit down. They also give me something fun to look at. My space is cluttered, but it is all mine and it drives me to be my best. Reading is something I could do anywhere, in my car, on the couch, but my favorite place is near water.

  • How do you market your book/s?

Right now I have been trying to market myself and my work through Twitter and through my website http://ravenmallo.webs.com/

  • Do you have any advice for other authors on how to market their books?

My advice would be to connect with other writers. I really believe that what you put out there comes back two fold. And to read. Read everything.

  • What do you do to get book reviews?
Raven Mallo twitter

Raven’s Twitter account!

I have a reading group. One is a relative and one is someone I met a year ago and have become good friends through my writing. I send them a chapter at a time and ask for advice.

My plan in the next year is to get even better with engaging new readers.

  • What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Research. I have spent the past couple of months researching the best agents to send my work to. I feel that an agent can give me a better chance to get published, but I keep my options open and I continue to network.

  • Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

Writing is not a hobby. Some will compliment how nice of a hobby it is, but do not let this discourage your dreams. I live to write and write to live. As cheesy as it sounds, never stop striving to reach your dreams!

  • How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Blog: http://ravenmallo.webs.com/apps/blog/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/raven.mallo.9
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ravenmallo

It was a great privilege for me to get to interview Raven Mallo, who has inspired me in many different ways. Thank you Raven!!! Good Luck with everything!

One thought on “A MOMENT TO SHARE with Raven Mallo

Leave a Reply

